yoga, what's it all about?

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

yoga, what's it all about?

Postby northern_mantis on Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:45 am

I have recently for the first time taken an interest in yoga having got a bit tired of the same old qigong. If anybody could provide any insights in to what it's all about I would be grateful.

Based on the next to nothing I know about yoga it appears that it may be a more interesting replacement to the usual warm up and stretch routine. The health and spiritual goals appear similar to qigong but it looks like it may put some much needed fun back in to my practise. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks

Mantis :)
northern_mantis
Huajing

Re: yoga, what's it all about?

Postby Waterway on Mon Apr 05, 2010 5:10 am

Been doing Yoga for just under a year, so I am not an expert. That said, I have been doing Qi Gong (Ba Duan Jin, Shaolin version) for roughly the same time, so I have a little experience with both.

A yoga teacher told me that on a physical level, one of the main goals of yoga is to increase movement in and open up the spine. Certainly a lot of yoga asana (postures) open really seem to work on the spine.

From a mental point of view, yoga can be sooooo relaxing. I remember my old Ashtanga Yoga class would start at 2000 hrs, then end at 2130 hrs. I'd go home, have a snack, get cleaned up and be in bed for 2300 hrs. Never slept better in my life. On one occasion I lay in bed facing the ceiling, nodded off in about 2 minutes. I woke the next day in the exact same position!!!! I believe I hadn't stirred or moved the whole night.

Yoga for me is much more relaxing than Qi Gong. That being said, my Yoga practice normally lasts much longer than my Qi Gong practice, so that could be a factor.