kai/he

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

kai/he

Postby mixjourneyman on Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:03 am

how does your style express kai/he?
in the chest?
in the hips?
in other joints?

I know a bit about kai/he and chest waving in xingyi and xybgz, but I'm fairly new to it from a tjq perspective.

What we seem to be doing in our sun shi taiji is expressing opening as the ribs separating and closing as the ribs compressing.
My teacher's in Shanghai seem really big on movement from the ribs/chest/and back.
For the xingyiquan and xybgz that I'm learning from master Yang, we just straight up wave the chest in a lot of the movements.
I think both methods are useful, but I like YH's method the best because I get the most power and feeling of the body opening from that practice.

I'm interested to hear about other's experience of kai/he and it's application.
mixjourneyman
Great Old One

Re: kai/he

Postby GrahamB on Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:07 am

The whole body opens and closes in Tai Chi Chuan and it's related to the breathing. I like to think of it as being like a bellows that causes the body to breathe. Helps to break it down into various body parts to learn it.
One does not simply post on RSF.
The Tai Chi Notebook
GrahamB
Great Old One

Postby Ron Panunto on Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:16 am

All 5 bows must be involved, i.e., the whole body should open and close.
Ron Panunto
Wuji

Postby somatai on Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:25 am

if the spine is to move the ribs must express opening and closing as part of it.....kai/he, is a very deep study and a key to xylhq.....the whole body must be made into a ball to he and explode into the bounce kai
somatai

Postby Zha Leijie on Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:57 am