bouncer work

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

bouncer work

Postby hopgarsansau on Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:57 am

so i currently work as a bouncer, just wondering what techniques you guys would prefer to use in this sort of venue from your various styles? also any tips from you elders who have worked in the security service would help as well
hopgarsansau
Mingjing

Re: bouncer work

Postby middleway on Mon Sep 01, 2008 4:46 am

i worked the doors for quite a while.

some tips.

1. BE POLITE and RESPECTFUL ... even if someone is being an arsehole ... dont be .... even if your co-workers are ... dont be (they are the ones that get stabbed walking back to their car ...). I have seen more doorman smashed in cause they were cocky ignorant people than anything else.

2. be aware and protective of your personal space.

3. Talk with your hands ... as in have the hands up gesturing and moving alot when talking to people. it presents a natural moving guard that is off putting to someone wanting to take your head off.

4. give people an exit if they want it ... don't crowd people.

5. if its kicking off n you gotta 'go'. Then go hard ... cause 'controlling' a situation thats really bad, erratic and dangerous .... aint gonna happen. Just take it to the required resolution.

As for 'techniques' .... if you dont know what your doing physically then you shouldn't be there IMO. Alot of big guys get a kicking cause they rely on being big. I would say you must have some confidence in your abilities to put yourself into that job role, so just trust yourself and your training and do 'whats needed when its needed'. The fact is that the above and the human relations side of the job is just as / more important than the fights ....

I had some of the best experiences of my training life on the doors ... there is definate value to the job if you are interested in understanding people and yourself.