Sung

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Sung

Postby H2O_Dragon on Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:58 pm

I recently started training Tui Shou again. Yeah, I could call it Tai Chi, I could call it Liu He Ba Fa, but in reality, I'm just doing push hands, not form, standing, or anything else. I'm also a brown belt in Judo now, which continues to be my primary art.

I'm trying to bring my Tui Shou into my randori, and for the most part, it works pretty good. However, Sensei made some comments tonight that really have me thinking. Here's the basic gist: You have to stay relaxed, but there are also times that you have to be tense. When you are relaxed, don't be too relaxed or you will have no defense. Then he gave me an example that made a LOT of sense. We take our grips, and Sensei comes in for Seio Nage (shoulder throw) nice and slow. He says, "You're expecting me to come in like this." Then, he explodes into the throw, and I go flying. He then says, "But in reality, that's how I'm going to come in, and if you're too relaxed, you don't have enough time to stop it."

With that being said, maybe we can get a few people to talk about their understanding and experience with the Sung concept before this thing goes BTDT.
H2O_Dragon

Re: Sung

Postby shawnsegler on Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:02 pm

Motherfucker!

I totally summoned you.

Welcome back, Larry. It's been awhile.

Best,

S
I prefer
You behind the wheel
And me the passenger
shawnsegler
Great Old One

Postby H2O_Dragon on Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:18 pm

Why I gotta be a motherfucker? huh? huh? huh?

How ya been, Shawn? Has the uppity chi that was affecting this board disipated yet? I've been too busy to carouse the threads yet.

p.s. You gonna answer my question, Fool?
H2O_Dragon

Postby shawnsegler on Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:25 pm

You know I don't even know how to read.

Why you gotta make me look bad in front of everyone?

Best,

S
I prefer
You behind the wheel