Find a teacher of like mindedness

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Find a teacher of like mindedness

Postby diverse379 on Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:11 am

When I Got my Masters in Education one point stuck out and that was on the subject
of visual vs kinesthetic and auditory learners
The deal seemed to be that teachers tend to teach in their individual learning style.
I will try to explain why finding a teacher who's teaching matches your goals is important.

In the internal martial arts there are many many paths to greatness enlightenment, mastery, skill gaining or whatever term you choose to call your road on this journey.

It is sad that for many beginners you cannot tell what teacher has the goods that are right for you.

I went to one school where the requirement was to do my san ti with my feet wide
this they said would give me stability for fighting

I am glad I had enough prior training to see why this wasn't right for me,

notice I didn't say wasn't right
I said was not right for me.

I later after leaving that school
discovered teachers from another hsing i school who taught the san ti a lot closer to what I remember
and the stance was narrower and the idea was not on fighting for stability but for training energy by opening the qua

I am not here to compare methods or the rightness of one method over another.
both methods have validity

my point which took me quite a while to get to
your teacher should reflect your goals.

if your purpose for training is to fight better as soon as possible then studying in a school where fighting is emphasized over chi cultivation is better for you

but if your purpose is to understand the internal on a higher level and you can wait until the fighting ability is imbued rather then practiced then perhaps you should seek out a teacher who teaches this way.

When I first moved to my new home here in the south of the united states