Applying Internals/Tai chi Chuan to modern arts (BJJ/MMA)

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Applying Internals/Tai chi Chuan to modern arts (BJJ/MMA)

Postby choldstare on Mon Dec 05, 2016 3:32 pm

Hey all,
I wanted to see what people's thoughts were on applying Tai Chi Chuan to bjj. I've been practicing Tai chi for about 2 years and struggle to find devoted partners to pressure test and spar with. I recently picked up BJJ and it's been a great workout. Also sparring with people of all sizes and spirits have been very fun.

I wanted to ask if you guys had much success testing and developing the principles of your arts in these environments. My main goal in my Tai chi and internal practice is to be able to apply it against people who are truly trying to hurt me, the more uncooperative resistance i can deal with the more confident I get in being able to do so which makes it easier for my ego to deal with confrontation :). Playing with it in a BJJ type environment lets me see what works and what doesn't albeit standup portion is not frequent as I'd like.

Some things I noticed in my couple months of practice:

1. noticed is that push hands type play helps with getting better grips and seeing opening for arm drags /taking someone's back.
    2. Removing the slack out/plucking their arm/grips clothes help get an easy attachment to their center then moving them or sweeping by taking slack out.
    3. General listening/sensitivity is much better than most bjj practitioners as they're mainly thinking about techniques and setups to apply instead of listening to the person and attaching to their movements and relaxing.