A list of fundamentals exercices (be)for(e) IMA training ?

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

A list of fundamentals exercices (be)for(e) IMA training ?

Postby Praeludium on Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:07 am

Hello,

since I'm a beginner (in Xinyiliuhequan), I'm very curious about all the foundation work, and more particularly the kind of foundation that is not specific to one style or school but considered universal. I'm not able to see my teacher often unfortunately.
This is a very important subject to me because I know the typical body of a XXIth century sedentary westerner is probably extremely far away from the body ancient chinese peoples had.
And unfortunately I kind of grew up being not a physical person at all for many reasons, so even though I've undone some of that in the last years, I'm looking to work on my physical and physiological basis.

So, what would be your basic exercises to lay a good foundation ?
Are there exercises that just about everyone do and should do, regardless of what kind of MA he/she practices ?
Are there exercises specific to your school that you think would be beneficial to everyone ?
Do you consider there are skills that you have to be able to prove you have (holding a stance for a certain time, being able to do a particular stretch, etc.) ?

Here's a link to a blog about San Huang Pao Chui (if I understood well), which is about as internal as you'll get AFAIK. The article is "External comes first".
Of course he describes elite training in the ancient times, the practice for an amateur adult beginner like me is necessarily totally different in objectives and methods. But I find the idea very interesting.

Currently I'm doing soft, static stretches, a few basics exercises such as static push-ups, hanging from a bar and slow body weight squats, and I'm beginning to add the ballistic stretches you see everywhere in chinese martial arts.