Differences in Santi stance

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Differences in Santi stance

Postby SquattingMonkey on Sat May 24, 2008 1:53 pm

Hi all, this is my first post for a new topic so go easy on me ok. I just started learning Che Xingyiquan and Dai Xinyiquan and I have a question regarding the Santi stance. I have been taught to turn the toe of the lead foot in at an almost 45% angle same as the toe of the rear foot turns out. In all refernces to the Santi stance I have found in books and on the internet they say the toe of the lead foot should be straight not at an angle. I was wondering if any of you practice the Santi stance the same as me and whether or not it is just a variation of Che Xingyiquan and the other styles of Xingyiquan.
Last edited by SquattingMonkey on Sat May 24, 2008 1:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
SquattingMonkey
Santi

Re: Differences in Santi stance

Postby johnwang on Sat May 24, 2008 1:59 pm

If you

- turn your front toe in, you can protect your grion, and you can also bite your opponent's leg if in "uniforn stance"
- keep your front toe forwad , you are ready to move in.
- turn your front toe out, you can resist againt a low round house kick or a sweep, and you can also bite your opponent's leg if in "mirror stance"
Crow weep in the dark. Tide bellow in the north wind. How lonesome the world.
johnwang
Great Old One

Postby Aged Tiger on Sat May 24, 2008 2:02 pm

Hi Monkey,

Well, I was taught to turn in about 30 degrees (roughly), Hebei & Sun style, but 45 is not uncommon from what I've seen. The reason I was given, is to protect the inner shin area as well as the groin by the slight angle.

But, that's just me. I'm sure some of the others here can give a better explaination or reason not to.

BTW, do you use a double or single Tsuan when going to PI chuan and Santi, in the Che style you are learning? Just curious.

Cheers,
Chas