Internal Training and External Conditioning

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Internal Training and External Conditioning

Postby TaoBoxer on Thu May 29, 2008 7:28 am

For the last 6 months or so I have gotten a lot more serious about my workouts. I have been playing around with the KB's for a few years and I have gotten some strength gains, I haven't really gotten any "conditioning" out of it. Here's my question:

What are you guys doing right now for Strength, Cardio and Flexibility, and how does that dovetail with your Internal training?

I usually get to the Kwoon 3x a week. This is what I usually do:

Walk 4.5 miles to the Kwoon, or do 30 flights of stairs when I get there (down backwards, up forwards)

6 rung circuit ladders of kettlebells (Swings, Cleans, Military Press, Squats, Renegade Rows) Start with 6 reps of each with 2 35's, ending with 1 rep of each with 2 70's.

Class is usually either 3 hours of Ba Gua Zhang or Yi Quan

High Rep Swings, Cleans or Snatches with either a 53 or 70 to finish, usually 80 to 100 reps depending on how toasty I am. The whole day usually takes about 4 hours.

My Internal work right now consists of a lot of Taiji Ruler, our qigong, and I am working on some stuff in my ZZ.

My Qigong feels really good these days. I feel like practicing Neigong and Waigong with equal vigor is really where it's at. I feel like my structure has never been better. I've got a couple of little things I'm working on in my standing in terms of connection and power transmission, but overall I'm pretty happy with where I'm at.

What are you guys up to?

Lewitt
Never go full retard
TaoBoxer
Great Old One

Re: Internal Training and External Conditioning

Postby Ian on Thu May 29, 2008 7:57 am

How relaxed are you? Just curious.
Ian

Postby Darth Rock&Roll on Thu May 29, 2008 8:06 am

Strength - Lifting, isotonic/isometric, yoga
Cardio - Plyo, Bag Work, Run, MA