Training in isolation...thoughts on sparring....

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Training in isolation...thoughts on sparring....

Postby bailewen on Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:00 pm

Hi there.

This is an old topic that I sort of feel like revisiting after the last couple posts on the palm slapping thread.
...as you progress, and as you spend more time in training, this reliance on what your teacher says must be replaced as soon as possible with your own opinions/experiences...

...Well ok ....

No, I train by myself these days ...[snip]... So, no, other than direct contact with my teacher (who is in Shanghai and I'm in Florida), I have little experience using [xyz] ...

I edited the exchange slightly.

I'm also in a situation where, for the most part, my only experience these days is direct contact with my teacher. Fortunately, we both live in the same city so that experience is fairly frequent but...and this is a big BUT...he's actually kind of from that old school of thought that does not advocate much sparring and he absolutely does not allow me to go out and spar with whomever I may meet outside of class. I am definitely from the "new" school that says that you should spar at least once or twice a week and get as much time crossing hands with folks from other schools as possible. I also think competing before your ready can still be positive as long as you have the right attitude.

This has always created some tension for me in training. I asked Shifu one time if he didn't think that this was sort of training in an ivory tower or as they say in Chinese, bi men zao che (闭门造车). He said how could I think I was working in isolation when I have regular interaction and corrections from him? Good point I guess.