Spiralling/Torquing the Legs into the Ground

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Spiralling/Torquing the Legs into the Ground

Postby taijimonster on Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:08 am

Hello

This is my first post, so bear with me... (for the interested, I've been studying Chen Style Taijiquan for approx 7 months, so I'm more or less a complete beginner).

I've noticed that some Taiji and Qigong practitioners (e.g. John Loupos) recommend 'spiralling' / 'torquing' the legs into the ground by twisting them outwards by a few degrees when standing, but without moving the feet.

I've tried doing this and it actually hurts my feet - it feels like I'm on the verge of straining or spraining them. And I really wasn't turning them very much (say, 5 degrees).

I was just wondering what everyone's opinion on this was. Is it something that everyone does?

Thanks!

Taijimonster
taijimonster
Santi

Re: Spiralling/Torquing the Legs into the Ground

Postby DeusTrismegistus on Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:36 am

What context are you doing this in? Is it part of static posture training, part of movement transitions, part of fajin?

Oh I do a spiraling into the ground with certain movements but it is not held and it doesn't cause me any discomfort.
Last edited by DeusTrismegistus on Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
I contend that for a nation to try to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a

bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle. -- Winston Churchill
DeusTrismegistus
Wuji

Postby taijimonster on Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:39 am

Thanks for the reply. I suppose I'm primarily thinking static postures. Bad idea?
taijimonster
Santi

Postby DeusTrismegistus on Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:49 am

taijimonster wrote:Thanks for the reply. I suppose I'm primarily thinking static postures. Bad idea?