All efficient movement is similar

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

All efficient movement is similar

Postby Ian on Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:42 am

What do you think of the idea that all efficient movement is similar?

I don't mean that iliqchuan = ziranmen = systema = 'essence of evolution' = aunkai, nor do I mean that these styles don't have their respective strengths and focuses.

Rather, that if you really grasp efficient movement, you should have less trouble picking up another style (assuming said style is also based on efficient movement).

If you find that, on learning another style, you struggle with the concepts as much as you used to struggle as a complete beginner, then perhaps you don't really understand efficient movement.

Ps. I know some of you are itching to regurgitate that Bruce Lee "two arms, two legs" thing. Please restrain yourselves :)
Last edited by Ian on Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:45 am, edited 2 times in total.
Ian

Re: All efficient movement is similar

Postby Chris McKinley on Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:49 am

Dunno...maybe. You haven't distilled it down to objective enough terms for us to agree or disagree that your statement is objectively true.
Chris McKinley

Postby Ian on Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:49 am

In a separate post, for clarity...

Questions:

1. Have you ever found yourself trying out a different style and totally sucking because it clashed with your style 'major'? Perhaps sucking more so than if you had gone in without prior training?

2. If you were to pick up another style today, would you be able to do so significantly faster than someone who has no martial training?
Last edited by Ian on Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ian

Postby Bhassler on Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:02 am

Ian wrote:What do you think of the idea that all efficient movement is similar?