The Nature of Force

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

The Nature of Force

Postby Wanderingdragon on Mon May 11, 2009 7:46 am

While training this morning , I started playing with some certain techniques , and it started me to wondering.
Is centripetal force ever a substantial force ?
Any thoughts ?
The point . is absolute
Wanderingdragon
Wuji

Re: The Nature of Force

Postby neijia_boxer on Mon May 11, 2009 8:16 am

The large swinging backfists especially in Hung gar and other southern fists use alot of centripetal force. when you get hit by one it hurts. I say yes it is substantial.
neijia_boxer

Postby Darth Rock&Roll on Mon May 11, 2009 8:26 am

stone on a rope.
Coconuts. Bananas. Mangos. Rice. Beans. Water. It's good.
Darth Rock&Roll
Great Old One

Postby Dmitri on Mon May 11, 2009 8:42 am

I'm sorry but both of those examples have nothing at all to do with centripetal force... That's just speed and mass. (Momentum, etc.)

Centripetal force as generated by rotating a human body is NOT substantial at all.

(Then again, I ain't no physicist so I may be wrong... it's been a long time since I studied anything about physics...)
Last edited by Dmitri on Mon May 11, 2009 8:45 am, edited 3 times in total.
Dmitri
Great Old One

Postby DeusTrismegistus on Mon May 11, 2009 9:04 am

Centripetal force is the force required to stay in circular motion and is a force toward the center of the circle. So when doing swinging techniques the centripetal force is the being directed toward the center of your body, so it can't be transferred into an opponent, or bag.