Taiji and knees!

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Taiji and knees!

Postby AllanF on Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:30 pm

I have been practicing yang taiji in Shenyang for 3 years now and have been lucky enough to be given a 6 month sabbatical by my lovely wife in order to concentrate on my taiji. And for the first couple of months everything was going swimmingly but recently (a month give or take) my left knee (more specifically the lateral ligament on the outside of the knee) have been giving me jip! -hurt-

It hurts when i do 'she shen xia shi' (snake creeps down) posture on the right (ie weight on right leg) as i turn to rise upward. I think the movement causes the knee to rotate forward from inside to out (counter clockwise). As i feel the joint open up and stretch at that point. Of course the 'snake creeps down posture on the right is follow by the same on the left, and this is a real problem now as i can not bend the knee too much without feeling pain. Afterwards the knee throbs and feels stiff for some time (an hour or so). There is no swelling but the joint feels like there is more fluid in it than the right knee.

For the medics/physios etc. out there is this, indeed, the lateral ligament problem? What can i do about it? RICE (Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation)?

And for everyone, i am very reluctant to completely stop training, especially as i have been given a chance to concentrate on it and that isn't likely to happen again, so is there exercises i can to to off set the possible loss of training the form?