Master Chu King Hung info anyone??

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Master Chu King Hung info anyone??

Postby Waterway on Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:09 am

So I found a Taiji teacher not too far away from me. He said on his site he studied under Master Chu King Hung for 14 years. I found a clip of said Master:

As I stated before, I'm no expert in IMA but I was a bit unsure about the clip (Masters demo starts at 3:40). Anyone have any info/experience with this guy? FWIW, the local teacher said he now studies under Christopher Pei. I don't know why he left his old teacher.

Thanks for any help.
Waterway
Anjing

Re: Master Chu King Hung info anyone??

Postby Walter Joyce on Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:20 am

I believe that he is one of the three lineage disciples of Yang Sau Chung.

I think the demonstration is laughable and a testament to his ego.

Disclaimer:

I studied with Chu Gin Soon, also one of Yang Sau Chung's disciples. He would also do things like this in demonstration, I didn't think much of it then. I felt that Gin soon had skills, I didn't understand why he got into Li Kong Jin.
Last edited by Walter Joyce on Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
The more one sweats during times of peace the less one bleeds during times of war.

Ideology offers human beings the illusion of dignity and morals while making it easier to part with them.
Walter Joyce
Great Old One

Postby mrtoes on Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:32 am

Yeah, CKH got into the no touch stuff but I think only later on. Yes, that demo made me cringe. However, one of my previous teachers studied with CKH (albeit a long time ago) and he was really very good, so I wouldn't necessarily let the chi waving put you off, I'm sure that CKH had some good stuff to teach and maybe still does. Check out this teacher and judge for yourself, it sounds like you have the experience to be able to ascertain whether he's a chi fairy or not :)

Matthew.
mrtoes