Wu Tai Chi in Portland OR?

Request a teacher near you. Any school opening notices are also posted here.

Wu Tai Chi in Portland OR?

Postby Fu Mei on Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:02 pm

Are there any Wu Tai Chi teachers in or near Portland Oregon?
Fu Mei
Huajing

Re: Wu Tai Chi in Portland OR?

Postby Fu Mei on Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:53 pm

Yes. Circular.
Fu Mei
Huajing

Postby cdobe on Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:01 am

I found this: (Can't recommend it personally though).
http://www.omaa.cmasdirect.com/site/view/54852_Home.pml

The problem with this school is that they don't give accurate information about their lineage. The instructor states that he studied with "Wu Tai-chein, 1905-1985" who is supposed to be a son of Wu Jianquan and younger brother to Wu Gongyi and Wu Gongzao. I've been researching the history of the art meticulously for many years now and I have never come across this third son. I suppose he means Jianquan's grandson Wu Daxin (吳大新) who lived 1933-2005. http://www.wustyle.com/en/db/person.php?cid=9998

Maybe lineage doesn't mean anything to you, but if he invents a person who never existed or he doesn't even know that his teacher died 20 years later, there's something seriously wrong. He should clarify this, before you even consider studying there.

CD
cdobe
Great Old One

Postby Fu Mei on Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:44 am

Thank you for the information. I had seen this site before. Lineage is important to me.
Fu Mei
Huajing

Postby shawnsegler on Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:44 am

If you're in portland you should really go learn with jamie...he's really the best taiji guy around here that I've heard any tell of, he teaches yang and sun styles.

I think there is a guy who teaches wu style at one of the churches in the NE, but I don't know anything about him.

And there's always that Lonnie Neer guy who teaches in Bend and comes out to Portland sometimes. He's pretty good at Gongbaotian Baguaquan. :)

S
I prefer
You behind the wheel
And me the passenger
shawnsegler
Great Old One