Practical Method - Push Hands Challenges (Daqingshan)

A collection of links to internal martial arts videos. Serious martial arts videos ONLY. Joke videos go to Off the Topic.

Practical Method - Push Hands Challenges (Daqingshan)

Postby nicklinjm on Thu Aug 27, 2015 8:42 am

Just came across an interesting article on M Chen Zhonghua's Practical Method website about the 'Pushing Hands' challenges that his school has encountered while teaching practical method in various places in Shandong province, including several videos of the challenges.

The article is here: http://practicalmethod.com/2015/02/about-challenges/

And a couple of the videos are shown below:

Can anyone with experience of Hong Junsheng's Practical Method go into a bit more details about the skills / techniques being used in these challenges?
nicklinjm
Wuji

Re: Practical Method - Push Hands Challenges (Daqingshan)

Postby Bhassler on Thu Aug 27, 2015 11:02 am

I've had limited experience playing with one of Chen Zhonghua's students, and I can say that it's not the same as the village or the Beijing variants of Chen TJQ, and it's also not shuai-jiao and it's not muscle/technique based. I have my own impressions and am not really comfortable articulating what they're all about based on my limited exposure, but it's cool stuff and he seems to produce guys who can actually use it, which is nice.
What I'm after isn't flexible bodies, but flexible brains.
--Moshe Feldenkrais
Bhassler
Great Old One

Postby Patrick on Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:08 am

Who is who?

and it's also not shuai-jiao

I could have sworn there were many leg trips/sweeps that remined me of judo/shuai jiao etc. ;D
http://www.dhyana-fitness.at- The philosophy and practice of a healthy life
Patrick
Wuji

Postby AJG on Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:58 am

It's shuai jiao
AJG
Anjing

Postby middleway on Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:12 am