Wang Shu Jin Taiji + Applications for the form

A collection of links to internal martial arts videos. Serious martial arts videos ONLY. Joke videos go to Off the Topic.

Wang Shu Jin Taiji + Applications for the form

Postby I-mon on Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:48 pm

This is great, it's in Japanese but you don't really need to understand the words. I studied at a school of students of Wang Shu Jin when I lived in Tokyo back around 2000. They weren't teaching the internal mechanics at all, but I've always liked the Chen Pan Ling form, the use of the xingyi like frame and then as you can see in this video every taiji move is used as an entry for the xingyi fists and bagua throws and sweeps.

Plus Wang Shu Jin was a classic fat man, they don't come much better.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnhEwTAQr7Q&t=130s
I-mon
Great Old One

Re: Wang Shu Jin Taiji + Applications for the form

Postby wayne hansen on Tue Jul 04, 2017 12:18 am

I have great respect for Wang but this is pretty standard yang style and the applications are not enlightening
Don't put power into the form let it naturally arise from the form
wayne hansen
Wuji

Postby I-mon on Tue Jul 04, 2017 1:47 am

I agree they're not enlightening, they're extremely basic, that's what I like about the form. You've trained in a TST lineage right Wayne? I like these applications because they remind me very much of the xingyi and bagua apps we'd do with Luo Dexiu in Taiwan. I never studied Taiji with Luo but I think this is the same form he does.
I-mon
Great Old One

Postby wayne hansen on Tue Jul 04, 2017 2:01 am

Yes it is the same form
Huang I Hsiang,s son does the best version I have seen

https://youtu.be/6uCETaf7INg
wayne hansen
Wuji

Postby cloudz on Tue Jul 04, 2017 2:52 am

Hey Simon,

The use of the xingyi like frame ?

If you're picking up on this, then that's probably a result of the cross training of the performer.
Chen Pan Ling as well as WSJ both cross trained the "three sisters".