Radon level 4.9 - to pump or not to pump?

Rum, beer, movies, nice websites, gaming, etc., without interrupting the flow of martial threads.

Radon level 4.9 - to pump or not to pump?

Postby Dmitri on Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:48 am

Been looking into buying a house... EPA-recommended max level for radon presence is 4; the house tested at 4.9 -- is that reason enough to worry and install the pump to mitigate, or no big deal?

None of us smoke.

The real estate agent is freaking out/saying this is a serious problem. I've googled around a bit and I'm not so sure that it is, but I've no experience with it whatsoever so we just might do it to "be on the safe side". Even though it's a lot of money.

If anyone with the knowledge in the field would care to comment, it'd be highly appreciated!

Thanks
Dmitri
Great Old One

Re: Radon level 4.9 - to pump or not to pump?

Postby neijia_boxer on Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:57 am

We had the seller install one when our home inspector found the same level. It was about 1000.00 to install. Radon levels are usually higher when in it rains and days after.
neijia_boxer

Postby Dubster on Thu Apr 17, 2014 2:21 pm

Hi Dmitri,

I am not familiar with the levels as in the UK it is legislated differently. For me, as a geologist, I would take it seriously and would probably get the pump. Direct link to lung cancer yadda yadda. If the house is perfect, think about the air flow - how draughty the house is or how easy it is to seal it up. If you can make the house and rooms 'air-tight' (double glazing, carpets etc) I would get the pump.

Have a look at this for advice:
http://www.ukradon.org/information/whatisradon

Cheers

D
Dubster
Anjing

Postby Dmitri on Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:18 pm

Thanks guys.

Well, while it'd be silly to deny it's dangerous in high concentrations, I also don't like how EPA is beating this 'radon ranger' hammer over people's heads, and even misrepresenting some of the data on its website.