Mountain of Debt

Rum, beer, movies, nice websites, gaming, etc., without interrupting the flow of martial threads.

Mountain of Debt

Postby Chris Fleming on Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:28 am

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/MOUNTAIN- ... et=&ccode=

Nice to see this sort of thing being talking about more and more openly in the media.
Chris Fleming

Re: Mountain of Debt

Postby H2O on Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:49 am

It's been being talked about for a while, but it does seem that the general public is becoming aware. The solution is pretty obvious, it's just that people don't like the answer.

I'm a financial advisor by trade, so every day I talk to at least 3 or 4 people with debt problems. My advice basically boils down to the same thing with everyone. Get a budget, stop putting your money away into retirement and other investements and shore up your cash. I often tell people to pick up a second job as well. Deliver pizza, wait tables, get a paperroute, etc.

You need to bring in more and/or spend less. You have to create a surplus to service the debt while building up a cash reserve to prevent future debt.

It's no different for the government. Congress needs to raise taxes AND cut spending at the same time. The surplus needs to be divided between paying off the defecit and creating a federal 'cash reserve' to pull from as emergencies WILL occur.

Conservatives need to realize that the longer we put off raising taxes, the higher the tax rate will become by necesity, and the liberals need to realize that we simply cannot afford to do all of the things we would like to for the people of this country.

We're at a point where we all need to suck it up and do our part. That means paying a lot more taxes and getting a lot less for it. I don't like it either, but that's the reality.
H2O
Great Old One

Postby Chris Fleming on Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:43 am