weighted pistols or barbell squats?

The following typical threads that plague martial arts sites will get moved here if not just deleted: 1 - My style is better than Your style" - 2 - "Internal & External" - 3 - Personal attacks - 4 - Threads that start well, but degenerate into a spiral of nonsense.

weighted pistols or barbell squats?

Postby Ian on Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:29 am

which exercise is better for pure functional strength i.e. thousands years of powah?

I personally prefer weighted pistols as I feel they allow you to build balance, stretch out your lower back and groin, and work both legs equally.

otoh, I'm just starting out with barbell squats and I can feel my technique still needs some improvement.

your thoughts?
Ian

Re: weighted pistols or barbell squats?

Postby TaoBoxer on Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:51 am

Well considering I can squat quite a bit but cant do a single bodyweight pistol.... I know which one is harder. I think both are very challanging and beneficial, but they target a different kind of strength and recruitment. In terms of pure martial arts bad-assness, I'd go with the pistols. If you can do a pistol with bodyweight +25-50%, no one will ever tell you you need to HTFU, thats for certain.

Lewitt
Never go full retard
TaoBoxer
Great Old One

Postby David Boxen on Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:27 am

I vote pistols. You just have to do something else to strengthen the lower back to compensate for not doing weighted squats.
We are not stuff that abides, but patterns that perpetuate themselves. - Norbert Wiener
David Boxen
Huajing

Postby Chris Fleming on Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:43 am