Sparring Question

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Sparring Question

Postby seven on Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:21 am

I have been practicing taijiquan for about ten years now. My experience of two-person work has been lots of push hands and some striking drills. I recently got the opportunity to do some sparring with gloves with a karate teacher who is really interested in taiji. It's a great opportunity for me to dip my toe into sparring, but I am interested in suggestions from experienced IMA people about how to approach sparring with a karate practitioner. Things to try, things to not do, ways to make the sparring have a connection to what I practice. Thank you.
seven
Santi

Re: Sparring Question

Postby MaartenSFS on Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:35 am

This is a bold new step that you are taking and puts you above 99.9999999% of Taijiquan practitioners, so you can start by congratulating yourself. Now wipe that grin off your face and get back to work!

Firstly, make sure that the rules that you are sparring under allow you to use your Taijiquan. The typical Karate point-sparring ruleset won't do you any favours. Next, begin by trying to use the techniques and strategies that you can already use in Tuishou (Push-hands). Choose a handful for each session and make it your goal to use those. It doesn't matter how many times you get hit or how many attempts it takes, as long as you are able to pull those off clean then it was a success. You'll be surprised at what "comes out"; things that are in the forms that you've never used in your life.