Tendon injury leads to stronger fajing

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Tendon injury leads to stronger fajing

Postby Appledog on Tue Feb 15, 2022 6:03 pm

A bit of a story here. So when I moved back to Toronto I injured the tendon in my right arm from carrying heavy bags. I think it is some kind of tennis elbow (lateral epicondylitis) related from doing exercises like farmer's carries. Let's just say I was lifting and pulling a suitcase which was a bit to heavy, for a bit too long of a time, and then my elbow just wouldn't work anymore.

About two months later I started training and my elbow just couldn't handle the 'fajing' in my chen form, like in hidden hand punch for example. So in order to get around the pain in my elbow, I just didn't 'fajing'. Instead I did everything else, and instead of punching out I just twisted and shifted my weight like normal.

Fast forward another month or two and I've noticed something I've never felt before. There's a very strong squeeze-twist which is now able to move through my arm and into the fist. In fact the feeling is so different I wonder if I was ever really fa-jinging before. I highly suspect that this is a result of me being forced to not use my arm muscles and to rely on the turning of my body when I punched. Now that I have some use of my arm back the move, as well as related moves like strike to the waist, feel so much crisper (fajingy?) than before. In fact I've noticed that during green dragon comes out of the water, the strikes are much, much more relaxed than before. I seem to be able to perform the move much better.

I'm certain i've made some sort of breakthrough and I will be working on this into the future. My question was, had anyone else had a similar experience, where an injury forced to you to relax a part of your body, and it turned out to be a good thing in the end?