What role does "ancestors worship" have in your practice?

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

What role does "ancestors worship" have in your practice?

Postby origami_itto on Fri Apr 15, 2022 4:04 am

Somebody asked this question on Facebook and I liked my answer so I figured I'd use it to open the discussion here.

Worship is a bit of a loaded term. My first teacher spent 30 years with his teacher and has a deep and abiding love and respect for him.
I'm studying Dong style expressly to teach it, so in that case I'm learning new content developed by Alex based on what was put together by his great grandfather Dong Ying Jie.

I don't know if it's appropriate to tell someone how they should feel about their grandparents.

To express his love and admiration my first teacher wrote a book about his teacher, T. T. Liang, and another about his primary teacher since master Liang passed on, Wai Lun Choi.

Sifu Alex has written a book about the life and legacy of Dong Ying Jie.

I've read them all, I recommend them all.

The study of Taijiquan has enriched my life in immeasurable ways. Far beyond simple self defense, it's allowed me to better understand, be aware of, and exert control over my body, mind, and spirit. YMMV.

I'm a pretty smart fella, a literal genius by some measures, but I didn't invent this art. I may have what I have due to the path I've walked, but I didn't draw the map I used to traverse it.

We stand on the shoulders of giants, and it is a slight to the art, a slight to our teachers to whom we owe so much, to not recognize, honor, and venerate those that came before to shape the art into the practice we know and love today.

Because nobody else will remember them.

You won't walk into a school and see children studying a book about their lives and art and legacy. The world at large has never heard of these men and doesn't care one bit about them