Comparing Yang lineages beyond Chengfu

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Comparing Yang lineages beyond Chengfu

Postby KongFuGongFu on Sun Dec 18, 2022 11:41 pm

Recently I made this video...

https://youtu.be/lvJclY2Auc4

I'm a Chen stylist trying to familiarize myself a bit more with these different lineages to see how they differ in appearance as well as teaching methodology. Mostly I'm curious about how different teaching methods may lead to different outward manifestations of the art. Kind of a casual nerding out thing. Superficial in a way but I find it fun :] ; I don't think I can get too deep without learning Chinese.

This video centers around Chengfu's lineage but I'm curious about the lineages which (allegedly?) come from Jianhou, Banhou, Shaohou etc. I've found that bios of purported students of these teachers seem more fantastical or strange than others. For example Wang Yanien's Michuan; Triessence released a video which explains how the story of Michuan is a bit dubious.

Any way I have found the following, correct me if I'm wrong:

- Wang Yenien learned from Zhang Qinlin, who allegedly learned from Yang Jianhou but more likely learned from Yang Chengfu.
- Tian Zhaolin learned from Jianhou and eventually Shaohou
- Wu Tunan learned from Shaohou a bit but mostly focused on Wu style. Seems like at that time Wu families had a fair bit of interaction with Yang families (e.g. Shaohou) which is cool but not sure if it makes for Yang-focused comparisons right now. Interesting character as well.
- Chi Qingsheng learned from Gu Liping who learned from Shaohou so it seems his line is fit for comparison. Liang Dehua learned from Chi
- Dong Yingjie was a student of Chengfu but also apparently learned from Shaohou

So I'm thinking of focusing on Wang Yennien, Chi Qingsheng, Tian Bingyuan (descendant of Zhaolin) and Dong Yingjie in my next video. Thoughts?
KongFuGongFu
Santi