To train again...

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

To train again...

Postby Michael P on Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:52 am

Hi all,

So I'm in a position where I'm feeling the need to train again, but just don't know how to go about it. I started training Hsing-I and Tai-Chi back in 1995, and trained pretty solid for about 10 years. Due to school, I've moved around a lot. Fortunately I've had some really great teachers along the way that have given me a solid background. But nowadays, every time I check out a new school, they just all seem to suck. I trained on my own for two years, but eventually just got bored to tears. I'm in my second year of med school, and will be moving again most likely four times in the next four years. Ughh.

What the hell do I do? I'm tired of standing/doing forms, etc on my own. I've been working out regularly in the gym (probably much to my former teachers dismay), so I'm in decent shape. Advice?
Michael P
Santi

Re: To train again...

Postby Chris Fleming on Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:56 am

Train kettlebells to go from decent shape to superior shape. Work on your goals, as to what you are actually training for. Work on your martial arts discipline, as training/standing on your own is a hallmark of any kind of martial art style, if this sort of thing is what you want to be doing. Find a teacher who teaches what you are looking for and who can help you get to where you want to go--that is, once you know where that is.
Chris Fleming

Postby Ben on Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:07 pm

Michael P wrote: But nowadays, every time I check out a new school, they just all seem to suck.

I know how you feel. I'm in a similar situation right now. I agree with Chris, Figure out your goals, find some people to practice on, and find a teacher you can go to even if its only once a year and you have to do some traveling to get there.