Combine attacks in Xing Yi Quan?

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Combine attacks in Xing Yi Quan?

Postby golden-tree on Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:18 am

Hi,

its my first post on this board and i will start directly with a question :)

Im a beginner in Xing Yi Quan.

I started training Xing Yis 5 element form but i can't imagine how to combine the 5 fists in attacking an oppenent.
How does it look wenn an Xing Yi practitioner attacks an opponent?

Is he just performing the 5 fists or does he add special other movements when he is rushing over his enemie?

At least excuse me for my bad english im from europe and i ll give my best that u understand me :)
golden-tree

Re: Combine attacks in Xing Yi Quan?

Postby Wanderingdragon on Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:36 am

First you must learn the five fists, then you will learn how they are used in attack and defense.
The point . is absolute
Wanderingdragon
Wuji

Postby mixjourneyman on Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:40 am

To be a little less arcane: The five fists can be freely combined after you understand that they are not specifically performed exactly as they are in the solo form (I mean if you always tried to beng someone in the solar plexus as an attack, you will always get punched in the face).
Beng is my favourite for combinations. Basically you can rattle of three or five bengs in one step at multiple levels and if you are lucky, hit your opponent several times. Another one I like is step forward with you and then step backward and do a reverse side zuan to the chin.
Just work on your elements for now, but when you understand how to apply each of them in the standard way, work with a partner to do combos. :D
mixjourneyman
Great Old One

Postby fisherman on Sun Mar 15, 2009 7:21 am

Also understand that once you have trained each element for a while that they can be done in different ways and on different angles than what is presented in the forms.