Planning a training holiday..

Request a teacher near you. Any school opening notices are also posted here.

Planning a training holiday..

Postby kwameb on Sun Mar 31, 2013 8:57 pm

It's been years since I've been abroad, and, to be honest, I want to take a month away to refocus, get away from a few things and do pretty much nothing but train. I had debated a meditation retreat, but this seemed more what I would like to do with my summer.
I'd like to visit China and just really knuckle down, but wouldn't know where to start looking as I don't know what is cheap/expensive, and there seem to be a fair few "come train at wudang/shaolin" packages out there. And I know little of who the legit teachers are. I have a bit of experience (a few years, though fairly casual) with wing chun, but want to move to IMA and these seems like a good opportunity. I have some experience with yang taiji and the 24 form, but to be honest I just want to train hard and learn, so bagua/xinyi/taiji (even baji) all sound good to me as long as the instruction will be good. The spear of baji/xinyi have always intrigued me, but so has bagua's footwork and taiji swordplay, so with good tuition it really wouldn't be a loss to pick one over the others.
So I turn to you RSF, can anyone help me out?
Last edited by kwameb on Sun Mar 31, 2013 8:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.
kwameb
Anjing

Re: Planning a training holiday..

Postby nicklinjm on Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:00 am

Depends what you want out of the holiday really. If you want a holiday with solitude, beautiful scenery, some philosophy/meditation and some kungfu on the side, then any of the schools on Wudang would be a good choice. But if you want to learn real traditional northern gongfu (as bagua, xinyi and baji all are), then steer clear of Shaolin/Wudang like the plague - they mostly teach modern wushu-ised versions of the main IMA.