POSSIBLE REPOST- Old School Sparring

A collection of links to internal martial arts videos. Serious martial arts videos ONLY. Joke videos go to Off the Topic.

POSSIBLE REPOST- Old School Sparring

Postby williamwilson666 on Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:27 am

This may have been put up before, but I thought I would post something decent to watch just to cleanse my self of the Maoshan debacle we have had to endure.

This is a clip of Sifu Carl Albright (Mantis et al) sparring with a student in 1982 and it's very good, in my opinion.

williamwilson666
Anjing

Re: POSSIBLE REPOST- Old School Sparring

Postby Strange on Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:16 am

i like it very much
mantis? it looks like southern hung gar/ white crane / butterfly palm to me, but i am no expert in southern schools.
yes train like you fight and fight like you train. i think this is fundamental and very important.
the opponent may be very aggressive, but with good basics a block/slap will send the whole body turning to one side - the other hand cannot punch... no more.
but props to the black gent - he doesnt give up easily heh.

thanks
天官指星 单对月 风摆荷叶 影成双

岳武穆王以枪为拳, 六合形意李门世根, 形意拳五行为先, 论身法六合为首,少揽闲事心田静, 多读拳谱武艺精 - 李洛能 (形意拳谱)
Strange
Great Old One

Postby C.J.Wang on Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:09 am

The black guy is using southern styles, Sifu Albright is the one with the beard.
C.J.Wang
Wuji

Postby Chris McKinley on Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:18 am